About . Books . Appearances . News . Extras . Contact


Illuminae Ray V6FrontOnlyA2A_V3.inddIlluminae is the NYT and internationally bestselling first book in a new trilogy co-authored with Jay Kristoff, and in development for film with Brad Pitt’s Plan B Entertainment. Visit the Illuminae Files website for exclusive content and extras! 


“Never have I read a book so wholly unique and utterly captivating. Brace yourself. You’re about to be immersed in a mindscape that you’ll never want to leave.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend trilogy

“This is one of those rare books that will truly keep your heart pounding and the pages turning as you peel back the layers –and you hope that the characters you love survive.” — Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of Across The Universe

“Nervy chicks, cute fighter pilots, lots of heart, lots of heartbreak, a mentally unstable battleship, and even pink hair! This book is XXXXing awesome!” — Laini Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone

“An exuberant mix of space opera, romance, zombies, hackers, and political thrills, told with eccentric aplomb. Illuminae is both the weirdest and most heartfelt thing you’ll read this year.” — Scott Westerfeld, New York Times bestselling author of Uglies and Zeroes

“An edge of your seat thrill ride that left me breathless. Genre: Undefinable. Novel: Unforgettable.” — Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable

“Not only is ILLUMINAE a twisting, heart-pounding story moving at the speed of light, but it is a truly beautiful novel that redefines the form. I have never read anything like it. And it certainly filled the BATTLESTAR GALACTICA shaped hole in my heart.” — Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Red Queen

“Stunningly creative. Smart, funny, and romantic. This is the book I’ve been waiting for.” — Veronica Rossi, New York Times bestselling author of Under The Never Sky


For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series.

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto one of the evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again!

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

Buy the book

In the US: IndieBound . B&N . BAM . Amazon . iBooks
Internationally: Book Depository
Australia: Readings . Booktopia . Dymocks


“Ambitious, heartbreaking, and out-of-this-world awesome.” —Kirkus Reviews starred review

“…a stylistically mesmerizing tale, where story and art are interchangeable, and words act as pictures.” — Publishers Weekly starred review

“A fast-paced, quasi-political sci-fi thriller that is completely unique.” — Booklist starred review

“Unforgettable. A game-changer for its genre.” — Shelf Awareness starred review

“You’ll cheer, you’ll gasp, you’ll hang on for all 600 pages. Illuminae is a real feat of fiction.” — Romantic Times gold pick

“This Sci-Fi space adventure will be your new YA obsession.” — MTV


USA: Knopf/Random House Children’s Books
Australia and New Zealand: Allen & Unwin
UK: Oneworld Publications/Rock The Boat
Germany: DTV
Brazil: Novo Conceito
Spain: Random House Spain
Portugal: Random House Portugal
Turkey: Pegasus
France: Casterman
Bulgaria: Egmont Bulgaria
Quebec: AdA
Thailand: Amarin
Italy: Mondadori
Russia: AST
Hungary: Konyvmoly
Serbia: Urband Reads
Poland: Otwarte
Japan: Hayakawa Publishing Corporation
Bosnia: BTC Šahinpasic
Israel: Modan Publishing House
Indonesia: Penerbit Haru
China: Huaxia
Audio US: Listening Library
Audio UK/ANZ: Audible

Follow by Email